Councillors and Officers

Councillors & Officials

Your current Councillors and officials are:

    • Chairman/Mayor – Cllr Marion Swales
    • Vice Chairman/Deputy Mayor – Cllr Julie Bridgeman
    • Town Clerk - Chris Downey.


  • Councillors for High Bentham
  • Gareth Adams, Grassrigg, Goodenber Rd, High Bentham, LA2 7JE
  • Tony Burton.    Wynn-Stay. Springfield, High Bentham  LA2 7BE
  • Howard Hill.   48 Goodenber Road. High Bentham. LA2 7JE
  • Thomas Marshall, 93 Main Street, High Bentham, LA2 7BN
  • Marion Swales, Bull Copy, Tatterthorn Road, High Bentham, LA2 7AJ
  • Robert Taylor, 18 Pye Busk Close, High Bentham, LA2 7BL
  • Thomas Wills.   High Bentham

Councillors for Low Bentham

  • Julie Bridgeman, 1 Ellergill Cottages, Burton Road, Low Bentham LA2 7DZ
  • Diane Faraday.Belfleckers Barn. Low Bentham Rd, Low Bentham. LA2 7BP
  • Tim Stannard, 4 Greenhead Cottages, Low Bentham  LA2 7ES

County Councillor

  • Mr D.L. Ireton, West Fields, Chapel-le-Dale, Ingleton,Via Carnforth, LA6 3JG

District Councillors

  • Mr S Handley,  32, High Street, Burton in Lonsdale,  LA6 3JP
  • Ms L. Brockbank, The Ridding, Low Bentham, LA2 7DE

 MP:  Julian Smith MP This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • Ms M Ammundsen, 1 Grove Cottages, Main Street. High Bentham, LA2 7HN

As well as meeting on a monthly basis the Council operates four committees covering various aspects of Council work.

Each Councillor sits on 2 committees and these meet, in general, on the second Monday in the month.

The Quarterly Finance Committee meetings tend to be later in the month due to the extra work required in preparing for these following a full Council meeting.

Each committee discusses business pertinent to its area of specialisation and passes pending decisions back to the full Council meetings for resolution.


Cllrs Marshall, Adams, Bridgeman, Swales, Taylor. Faraday


Open Spaces

Cllrs  Bridgeman, Burton, Faraday, Marshall & Stannard.


Cllrs  Adams, Bridgeman, Burton, Hill, Stannard & Wills.

Building Maintenance

Cllrs Adams, Hill, Swales, Taylor & Wills.

Council Representatives on Other Bodies

 Body  Representative
Joint Footpaths Cllr Swales
Playing Field Association Cllr Stannard
Goodenber Play Area Cllr Adams
LASRUG Cllr Adams
Police Cllr Marshall
Aid in Sickness Cllr Adams
Looking Well Cllr Swales
Friends of Bentham Library Cllr  Swales
Youth Cafe Cllr Wills
Victoria Institute Cllr Bridgeman
Longstaffe Educational Foundation  Cllr Swales
Bentham Common Land Charity Cllr Stannard (until 2022)
Collingwood & Longstaffe Cllr Marshall (until 20 )
YLCA Craven Branch  Cllr Swales
Bentham Dementia Friendly Community Cllr Stannard
Bentham Area Refugee Support Cllr Taylor
Bentham Christmas Lights Cllr TBA
Bentham Save a Life  Cllr Faraday
Bentham Patient Representative Group Cllr Faraday
© 2020/21 - Bentham Town Council




All Councillors must publish a list of their interests, or ROI. 

Stating where they live, where they work and what financial interests they have.

Councillors are required to keep these up to date.


Please note the revised meeting dates.


20 January 2022


Full Council for Planning and Open Spaces.

07 February 2022


Full Council

24 February 2022


Full Council for Buildings and Planning

07 March 2022


Full Council

24 March 2022


Full Council for Marketing and Planning.

04 April 2022


Full Council

11 April 2022



21 April 2022


Full Council for Planning and Open Spaces.

27 April 2022


Annual Parish Meeting.